Oh, I'm pleased that my cocktail of old, the Stinking Vicar, has been rediscovered. I recommend RC as the cola of choice...
Subject: New: Stinking Vicar
From: Daibh
Posted: Mon Jan 9. 2006, 17:19 UTC
Stinking Vicar
* one collins glass (coffee mug will work, too)
* plenty of crushed ice
* two or three jiggers of orange curacao
* three dashes of bitters
* one diet soda (cola)
* garnish with a maraschino cherry (red)
Pour the orange curacao and the bitters over the ice, then add the soda.
Stir. Drink. And be merry.
Friday, December 10, 2010
Saturday, December 4, 2010
Peanut Butter Blossoms
I had a craving for Hershey's Peanut Butter Blossoms, and found that I had no vanilla extract on hand, so I used almond extract, which made'em taste great, too. Also, I used dark chocolate Kisses with these. Want some?
Thursday, November 25, 2010
Stumblefoot
I was playing around with Calvados today, came up with a tasty, toasty concoction...

Stumblefoot
1 ounce dry sherry
1 ounce Calvados
5 dashes of bitters
3 ounces of apple cider
Serve in an apothecary glass, over ice. Add sherry, then the Calvados, then the bitters, then fill the glass with cider. Enjoy. Garnish with a green and a red maraschino cherry, if you like.
Stumblefoot
1 ounce dry sherry
1 ounce Calvados
5 dashes of bitters
3 ounces of apple cider
Serve in an apothecary glass, over ice. Add sherry, then the Calvados, then the bitters, then fill the glass with cider. Enjoy. Garnish with a green and a red maraschino cherry, if you like.
Tuesday, November 23, 2010
Thursday, November 18, 2010
Measure By Measure
I'm a bit of a fiend for measuring cups, like when I make pancakes or cookies -- I like to make'em the same size, more or less, for consistency of cooking, so I pour'em with measuring cups. Usually, an ice cream scoop's worth of cookie dough, which I then halve, rolling them into balls. That gives me a consistent outcome. For pancakes (etc.), usually one-third of a cup is ideal for a nice-sized pancake.
Blanching
I've taken to getting fresh baby leaf spinach and blanching it a minute in the microwave, then adding feta cheese and black pepper to it, and blanching it another minute. Then I like toasting a plain bagel and putting the spinach-n-feta mixture on it. Really tasty!
Wednesday, November 17, 2010
Mumbo Jumbo Bumbo
I've lately taken to making Bumbo. Something about the season, I dunno, it just suits me. I have crafted my own recipe (below), after kind of playing with the ingredients. Bumbo recipes don't tend to use ice, but I like'em with ice, personally. Your call on that. Play with the proportions until you get a tan-hued beverage where the citrus blends with the rum with hints of the spices in the taste. I tend to eyeball these ingredients, myself. You'll know when you've gotten it right. Hell I just made myself one while working on this entry. Bottoms up, me hearties!
Mumbo Jumbo Bumbo
Pint Glass
2 ounces spiced rum
5 dashes bitters
3 ounces of icewater
1 dash ground cinnamon
1 dash ground nutmeg
2 tsp. of sugar
orange juice
random garnish*
Start with the rum and the bitters. Add the water, cinnamon, nutmeg, and sugar. Stir until nicely mixed. Then add some crushed ice and the orange juice to fill the glass, giving it a quick stir.
*Garnish with a cinnamon stick, a red maraschino cherry, a twist of orange peel, or an orange wedge, if you like.
Mumbo Jumbo Bumbo
Pint Glass
2 ounces spiced rum
5 dashes bitters
3 ounces of icewater
1 dash ground cinnamon
1 dash ground nutmeg
2 tsp. of sugar
orange juice
random garnish*
Start with the rum and the bitters. Add the water, cinnamon, nutmeg, and sugar. Stir until nicely mixed. Then add some crushed ice and the orange juice to fill the glass, giving it a quick stir.
*Garnish with a cinnamon stick, a red maraschino cherry, a twist of orange peel, or an orange wedge, if you like.
Wednesday, September 8, 2010
Mmmmmilkshake
"Is that whiskey in your milkshake, or are you just happy to see me?" Bahaha!
I definitely have to futz around with this...
Who Put the Whiskey in My Milkshake?
I would say the malt powder is mandatory, not optional...
Bourbon Street Milkshake
Published: September 7, 2010
Adapted from Brooklyn Bowl, Brooklyn
Time: 5 minutes
1 cup vanilla ice cream made with egg yolks
2 tablespoons whole milk
1 1/2 ounces bourbon
2 tablespoons hazelnut spread
1 teaspoon malt powder (optional).
Measure ice cream and keep in freezer until ready to mix. Combine other ingredients in a blender or milkshake canister. Blend at medium speed until smooth and the hazelnut spread is all incorporated. Add ice cream and blend until creamy. Pour into a chilled sundae glass.
Yield: 1 milkshake.
I definitely have to futz around with this...
Who Put the Whiskey in My Milkshake?
I would say the malt powder is mandatory, not optional...
Bourbon Street Milkshake
Published: September 7, 2010
Adapted from Brooklyn Bowl, Brooklyn
Time: 5 minutes
1 cup vanilla ice cream made with egg yolks
2 tablespoons whole milk
1 1/2 ounces bourbon
2 tablespoons hazelnut spread
1 teaspoon malt powder (optional).
Measure ice cream and keep in freezer until ready to mix. Combine other ingredients in a blender or milkshake canister. Blend at medium speed until smooth and the hazelnut spread is all incorporated. Add ice cream and blend until creamy. Pour into a chilled sundae glass.
Yield: 1 milkshake.
Monday, August 30, 2010
Saturday, August 28, 2010
Potato Gnocchi
I cooked potato gnocchi with a tomato-mascarpone sauce, and it was good. I used red cooking wine, tomatoes, romano cheese, and fresh basil in the sauce, plus some Cholula Hot Sauce and black pepper to give it a little kick.
I'd wanted to catch it in sunlight, but the sun had set before I'd plated it, so I was stuck with flash photography, which doesn't do it full justice. I served it with petite Brussels sprouts (themselves lightly buttered and peppered). Tasted very good, although I love gnocchi, anyway.
Wednesday, August 25, 2010
Pepsi Throwback

I saw that Pepsi was doing it's "Pepsi Throwback" thing, trotting out (for a limited time! Oooh!) it's made-with-sugar formula. Had to get some, even as I was piqued by the campaign, since, of course, it's what should be in the soda to begin with, versus the high-fructose corn syrup they use because, thanks to the corn subsidy/lobby, it's cheaper. I'm not a big soda drinker (yeah, I call it "soda," never "pop"), but the stuff IS definitely good, and makes me mournful that soda companies went the corn syrup way. Sugar is better, and, I think, is ultimately better for you than high fructose corn syrup. So, it was nice to have that, although it heightened just how sucky the usual stuff is. I know folks who get the Mexican versions of Coke or Pepsi, because they still use sugar instead of corn syrup (although these days they seem to be hedging their bets on the labels -- I've heard people say that they say "sugar or corn syrup" on the labels, now, so even Mexico's waffling on it). Anyway, good stuff, the Pepsi Throwback. Get it while you can, and savor the flavor.
Tuesday, August 17, 2010
Green Zebra Bruschetta

This evening, I got the fixins for Green Zebra Tomato Bruschetta. I always love bruschetta, and having those tomatoes handy, I had to try a variation on a theme -- some extra-virgin olive oil, some crusty bread, some fresh mozzarella (pre-sliced), some fresh basil. I'd already had a number of Green Zebra tomatoes, thanks to a coworker with a bountiful garden harvest this year.
I thin-sliced the tomatoes and the bread, set up a plate with the olive oil, some salt and pepper, and broke off the fresh basil. Having assembled the bruschetta, it was delicious. Of course, had some red wine with it. Yummers.
The tomatoes were great -- green, but edible fresh, with a light flavor that worked wonderfully in this capacity. Delicious. I saved some of the seeds so I can try growing them next season. Had to be done.
Well, they shouldn't
It went like this -- SHE made chocolate milk for one of the boys, the younger one, and he complained about it, said he wanted chocolate milk. And she said "I made it." and he said "No, like DADDY's chocolate milk." And his older brother agreed, and they said mine was the best, and I told her "Stoics shouldn't make chocolate milk; chocolate milk is an Epicurean thing." And she laughed, grudgingly agreeing. That made me think I needed to do an Epicurean blog. I'm sure there are zillions of foodieblogs out there, but I'm doing one, anyway.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)