
I saw that Pepsi was doing it's "Pepsi Throwback" thing, trotting out (for a limited time! Oooh!) it's made-with-sugar formula. Had to get some, even as I was piqued by the campaign, since, of course, it's what should be in the soda to begin with, versus the high-fructose corn syrup they use because, thanks to the corn subsidy/lobby, it's cheaper. I'm not a big soda drinker (yeah, I call it "soda," never "pop"), but the stuff IS definitely good, and makes me mournful that soda companies went the corn syrup way. Sugar is better, and, I think, is ultimately better for you than high fructose corn syrup. So, it was nice to have that, although it heightened just how sucky the usual stuff is. I know folks who get the Mexican versions of Coke or Pepsi, because they still use sugar instead of corn syrup (although these days they seem to be hedging their bets on the labels -- I've heard people say that they say "sugar or corn syrup" on the labels, now, so even Mexico's waffling on it). Anyway, good stuff, the Pepsi Throwback. Get it while you can, and savor the flavor.
No comments:
Post a Comment